Australian School Term Dates

Australian Capital Territory

Term 1, 2016

Monday 1 February – Friday 8 April
Teachers commence Thursday 28 January

Term 2, 2016

Tuesday 26 April – Friday 1 July

Term 3, 2016

Monday 18 July – Friday 23 September

Term 4, 2016

Monday 10 October – Friday 16 December

New South Wales

Term 1, 2016

Wednesday 27 January – Friday 08 April

Term 2, 2016

Tuesday 26 April – Friday 01 July

Term 3, 2016

Monday 18 July – Friday 23 September

Term 4, 2016

Monday 10 October – Tuesday 20 December

Northern Territory

Term 1, 2016

Urban Schools: Friday 22 January – Friday 1 April 
Remote Schools: Monday 25 January – Friday 1 April 

Term 2, 2016

Monday 11 April – Friday 24 June

Term 3, 2016

Monday 25 July – Friday 30 September

Term 4, 2016

Urban Schools: Monday 10 October – Thursday 15 December
Remote Schools: Monday 10 October – Friday 16 December

Queensland

Term 1, 2016

Monday 25 January – Thursday 24 March

Term 2, 2016

Monday 11 April – Friday 24 June

Term 3, 2016

Monday 11 July – Friday 16 September

Term 4, 2016

Tuesday 4 October – Friday 9 December

South Australia

Term 1, 2016

Monday 1 February – Friday 15 April

Term 2, 2016

Monday 2 May – Friday 8 July

Term 3, 2016

Monday 25 July – Friday 30 September

Term 4, 2016

Monday 17 October – Wednesday 16 December

Tasmania

Term 1, 2016

Monday 1 February – Friday April 8

Term 2, 2016

Tuesday 26 April – Friday July 1

Term 3, 2016

Monday 18 July – Friday September 23

Term 4, 2016

Monday October 10 – Wednesday 21 December

Victoria

Term 1, 2016

Wednesday 27 January (school teachers start) – Thursday 24 March
First day of Term 1 is a student-free day

Term 2, 2016

Monday 11 April – Friday 24 June

Term 3, 2016

Monday 11 July – Friday 16 September

Term 4, 2016

Monday 3 October – Tuesday 20 December

Western Australia

Term 1, 2016

Monday 1 February – Friday 8 April

Term 2, 2016

Tuesday 26 April – Friday 1 July

Term 3, 2016

Monday 18 July – Friday 23 September

Term 4, 2016

Monday 10 October – Thursday 15 December