CANBERRA, Oct 12 - Woodbridge Primary School in Western Australia and Brooks High School in Tasmania were the winners in their state and the national prize winner for primary and secondary schools, respectively.
Tehan said 79 schools nationwide had entered the Anzac Day School Awards.
"The Anzac Day School Awards is a competition that encourages learning about Australia's wartime history and commemorating the service of Australians on Anzac Day," he said.
"Every school that entered displayed great initiative and creativity with their entry and the respect for our Defence personnel was obvious.
"As a nation it is important that we never forget the service and sacrifice of the men and women who serve in defence of our country.
"We keep that memory alive by instilling respect for our wartime history and an understanding of the importance of Anzac Day in our future generations."
Mr Tehan said the Brooks High School winning entry was a collaboration between Digital Arts and Dance/Drama students that imagined what it was like to walk 'in the shoes of the Anzacs'.
"The Woodbridge Primary School students created posters displaying information about Light Horsemen killed in the action in the Gaza campaign after researching the battle using the Department of Veterans' Affairs Anzac Portal and Australian War Memorial website."
The following is a list of the winning schools.

National winners:

Brooks High School, TAS
Woodbridge Primary School, WA
Secondary school category winners:
Merici College, Braddon ACT
John Therry Catholic High School, Rosemeadow NSW
Rosebery Middle School, NT
St Ursula's College, Toowoomba QLD
St Catherine's School, Toorak VIC
St Mary's College, Broome WA
Secondary school category runners-up:
Emmaus Catholic College, Kemps Creek NSW
Casuarina Senior College, Moil NT
Cairns State High School, QLD
Rose Bay High School, TAS
Mornington Secondary College, VIC
Leeming Senior High School Education Support Centre, WA
Primary school category winners:
Amaroo School, ACT
St John Vianney's Parish School Doonside, NSW
Durack School, Palmerston NT
Ferny Grove State School, QLD
Crystal Brook Primary School, SA
Corpus Christi Catholic School, Bellerive, TAS
Thomas Chirnside Primary School, Werribee VIC
Primary school category runners-up:
Rosary Primary School, Watson ACT
Jerrabomberra Public School, NSW
Good Shepherd Lutheran College, Leanyer NT
St Clare's Catholic school, Burdell QLD
Playford McAuley Campus, Craigmore SA
New Town Primary School TAS
St Arnaud, Primary School, St Arnaud VIC
Kingston Primary School, Australind WA
Special category winners:
Best Anzac Centenary Learning - Karonga Special School (K-12), NSW
Best Innovative Activity - Ryan Catholic College, QLD
Best Local History Research - Mount Mee State School, QLD
Best Use of Technology - Emerald State High School, QLD
Brigadier Bill Rolfe AO Best Veteran and Community Involvement - Crystal Brook Primary School, SA
Best Commemorative Art - Kingston Primary School, Australind WA