Gavrielatos lead the AEU for seven years, before departing in 2015 for a position with global teachers' union Education International. He is a former NSWTF deputy president and was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in 2017.

Mulheron, the federation’s equal-longest serving president, did not contest the leadership ballot.

“I looked at the team that will be taking over the leadership of the Teachers Federation and I’m very pleased, it’s a very strong and a very experienced team,” Mulheron told EducationHQ.

Henry Rajendra has been elevated from senior vice president to deputy president, with Amber Flohm taking on his former position.

“I’m hoping to continue the work that I’ve done with Maurie Mulheron as president and [former deputy president] Joan Lemaire, to pursue the best outcomes in terms of what’s best for our teachers and students in the NSW public education system,” Rajendra said.

The new leadership team will take office from the start of the 2020 school year.